Ireland Regions

Connemara, Connaught, Irealnd, photo credit: Karl le Gros

Located on the west coast of Ireland, the Connaught province encompasses the counties of Galway, Leitrim, Mayo, Roscommon and Sligo. The least densely populated of the four Irish Provinces, Connaught is home to some of the most scenic and natural countryside of Ireland.The Connaught is home to the wild, hauntingly beautiful scenery of the Connemara. […]

Ireland-Leinster-Carton House, Kildare - Defishfiles

The Leinster Province on the east coast of Ireland is home to the Irish capital of Dublin and includes the twelve counties of Carlow, Dublin, Kildare, Kilkenny, Laois, Longford, Louth, Meath, Offaly, Westmeath, Wexford and Wicklow. All too often visitors rush from Dublin through Wexford and on to western Ireland never realizing that they are […]

Kinsale Harbor, Munster, Ireland photo credit: MrHicks

Munster is located in the southwest of Ireland and encompasses the counties of Cork, Clare, Kerry, Limerick, Tipperary and Waterford. At over 9,300 square miles, Munster is the largest geographically of the four Irish Provinces. Our Southwest itinerary will take you through much of Munster and its magnificent scenery: the mellow charm of Kinsale Harbor, […]

Fanad Head Lighthouse, Ulster, Ireland, photo credit: Keith Shoebridge

Six of Ulster’s nine counties, Antrim, Fermanagh, Tyrone, Derry, Down and Armagh, make up Northern Ireland, a part of the United Kingdom. The remaining three, Donegal, Cavan, Monaghan, belong to the Reupublic of Ireland. The United Kingdom counties measure distance in miles and the currency is Pound Sterling while the Irish counties in Ulster, as […]

(Page 1 of 1 )